Is Today’s Music Too Much?

Music_01754

photo credit: wikimedia commons, Nevit Dilmen

Music has evolved with history. Let’s just say that you don’t usually hear classical and disco songs much these days. But what is considered “music” today can be a little much. Remember when you could hear a person’s voice when they sang? When instruments weren’t replaced by a soundboard? Unfortunately, things are taking a turn for the worst, and quality music may soon become history.

I understand that everyone has a different taste in music. I get that. But in my opinion, you should at least be able to tell if an artist has talent. Today, anyone could sound like a pro with auto-tune and a techno beat. So many singers do just that. They record a song, and let auto-tune do the rest of the work. Come on people, it’s called singing for a reason. A singer should sing, and not let music producers sit behind their computers and crank out songs.

Luckily, there is still hope for the future in music. Believe it or not, there are some artists out there who aren’t all about the techno auto-tune. Imagine that! I like to believe that these artists are making a comeback in the music business. A few examples are “The Lumineers”, “Mumford and Sons”, “Fun.”, and several others. As far as I am concerned, my music shouldn’t sound like microphone feedback, an old computer starting up, or give me a headache. Dubstep, I’m looking at you. If this music “craze” continues, they should at least make a new music genre for auto-tune. That way, I know what music is real and what is not. Sure, I’ll admit it. I’ve listened to the techno songs. Some are catchy, but gosh I bet they killed a few brain cells.

 

 

Leave a comment