The Secrets of the Night Sky

I wrote this poem to express my feelings and interest in the universe that surrounds us.

–––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––

 

I stare into the night sky.

The moon is shining like it has a million times before.

Except this time, I actually take time to notice it.

It has the gentle face of an ancient man.

He smiles and I wonder- what is he smiling about?

 

I stare deeper into the night sky.

I notice the millions of stars that never move.

Except this time, I actually take time to notice them.

They tell a story in pictures, one that is millions of years old.

But what is this story about?

 

When I stare even deeper into the night sky I notice something.

I do not feel alone. For I know that when I am looking into the night sky, a pair of eyes are staring back at me, from somewhere very far away.

 

That pair of eyes belongs to someone who I can relate to.

Those eyes belong to someone who wonders the same as I do.

 

Where are we and who are we?

 

Leave a Reply

