State Champs

I play for a soccer team called New England Futbol Club or NEFC as most people call it. Last year my team was very good. Each year all of the club soccer teams compete to be named as the Massachusetts State Champs. There are two different pools that teams have to qualify for and depending on how you do in the pools is what ranking you will have in the actual state cup. Last year my team won our pool so we got the second seed. We ended up making it to the championship game against one of our competitive rivals the MPS Bulldogs.

Throughout the whole game it was a well fought game and towards the end the fans did not know what way the game would go. My team had scored so it was one to nothing and soon after the other team the Bulldogs tied it up, closer to the end of the game my team had an amazing goal to go ahead two to one. Our team was in defensive mode. Our only task was to keep the ball out of our half and give them no opportunities to even get close to scoring.

I knew the game had to be ending soon. I was running around like crazy pressuring the ball. I heard the referee blow the whistle once and knew the game was over because the ball was still in. I did not even notice or hear the other blows of the whistle because I knew that my soccer team was now state champs. We all stormed the field jumping on each other in joy. We sprinted to our goalie knowing that if it was not for him that we would not have won. We were all so happy not knowing what it felt like to finally be state champs. This was the best time of my soccer career so far.

 

Leave a Reply

