Watches: Time Will Always Tell

Watches are an essential part of many people’s wardrobe, and the favorite part in my case.  Watches have been around since about the 15th century, and their rich history has been growing ever since.  Everyone has heard of watch brands like Rolex or Timex, and especially G-Shock for kids my age (teenager), but there is much more behind a watch then the brand name.  Many watches have special stories behind their journey to the wrist of a very lucky person.  For example, one of the world’s most expensive timepieces, the Breguet Marie Antoinette, took about 44 years to make.  It’s creation was requested by an admirer of Marie Antoinette.  Every piece of this amazing watch was handmade.  After the popular Swiss watch company, Swatch, acquired Abraham-Louis Breguet’s (one of the horologists who created the watch) company, they began a massive quest to find the original watch.  When they couldn’t come up with the original piece, they decided to rebuild it just based on pictures.  People at the Breguet company care enough about the watch, it’s rich history, and relation to Marie Antoinette that they have refused stratospheric amounts of money to purchase it (upwards of 8 figures).

Screen Shot 2013-03-04 at 8.49.36 PM

Photo Credit: alexkerhead on Flickr

Many average people and talented watchmakers truly care about what they wear on their wrist everyday and think of watches as more than a status symbol.  Most popular watch companies have been in existence for over hundred years, like Patek Philippe.  They have been making some of the most high quality watches in the world for almost 200 years, and the company was started by just two Polish immigrants that met in Geneva, Switzerland.  Most importantly, the main tagline of the company is, “You never actually own a Patek Philippe.  You merely take care of it for the next generation.”  I hope that I get to inherit my dad’s wonderful watch someday.  This shows that the rich history of watches, and more specifically, family history, is what truly keeps the watch industry going.

One thought on “Watches: Time Will Always Tell

  1. Love the article on wrist watches. No I am not of your teenage generation so I do wear a wrist watch every day regardless that I carry a cell phone. On my wrist right now is my mother’s Girard Perregaux vintage wrist watch. It has no battery and I wind it every morning when I put it on. It still keeps remarkable time. This watch is probably close to 70 years old! I also have my grandmothers wrist watch in the same condition and it is probably closer to 90- 100 years old. I love all my wrist watches, I have many. Remember the same intricate detail is in Big Ben! Making watches is truly an art.

Leave a Reply

