Carmelo Anthony: A Legend

Photo Credits: TheHoodgirl

I am a huge basketball fan, and as a result, I follow the National Basketball Association (NBA). On a long term basis, Lebron James is my favorite all-around player in the NBA. However, as of this year and seeing from his performances and leadership, I have taken a big liking to Carmelo Anthony, number seven on the New York Knicks. Anthony currently averages 29.3 points per game, second in the NBA, behind Kobe Bryant from the Los Angeles Lakers. Anthony averages 2.7 three-point field goals per game, eighth in NBA. I believe Anthony could and probably will lead his team to the Eastern Conference Finals and maybe even the NBA Finals. As of now, his team is ranked fifth all around in the NBA and second in the Eastern Conference.

Carmelo Anthony brings a spark to the court. He makes his teammates better and effectively creates open shots for not only them but himself too. It is so fun to watch him play because I, as a basketball player myself, can learn from his moves, such as creating my shot or exploding to the basket, and I can also learn from his mistakes (turnovers) and how to prevent them from happening to me. 

Being the young basketball player that I am, I largely look up to Carmelo Anthony. He is a great example of a good basketball player who can get a shot off and score the basketball almost anytime he wants. His defense is efficient and he’s always playing with a great amount of intensity, yet another thing I can also learn from him. As seen in his ranking of points per game, I believe Carmelo Anthony is one of the best, if not the best, scorer in the NBA. Being that Carmelo Anthony has the great leadership skills and moves as a basketball player that he does, I know he has a great career ahead of him.

4 thoughts on “Carmelo Anthony: A Legend

  1. I don’t really like basketball, so I didn’t understand what a turnover is 🙂
    But this blog sort of made me want to research basketball a little more…

  2. Maybe you can talk a little bit more about why you like him in particular. There are many great basketball players in the NBA. What about him is unique?

  3. Excuse me but Carmello Anthony plays for the New York Knicks not the Denver Nuggets so that picture is not correct. Just saying. Your welcome

  4. Good post Brooke! I liked how you explained how watching Melo helps you get better and how you can learn from his mistakes. But I’m more of a LeBron fan.

Leave a Reply

