Worcester Academy and Indian Food?

I stumbled into the Megaron starving. First, I decided to go see what the the Thursday special was before making a quesadilla or sandwich. When I went up to the lunch line, I saw something that resembled Indian food, and I really appreciated that the Worcester Academy faculty was making it. So I gave the basmati rice and chicken curry a shot, and brought my plate back to my table. I’m warning you now, this was the worst Indian food I had ever tasted, and I’ve tasted a lot of Indian food.

 

 

Author-unknown

Author-unknown

The Worcester Academy “basmati” rice barely resembled real basmati rice. Eating basmati rice fills you with warmth, from the inside out. Basmati rice is moist but not watery. It doesn’t look clumpy and pasty, you can see each individual grain of ice. Instead this basmati tasted, and looked, like the typical cafeteria rice. Part of it was undercooked, the other part was overcooked. Some of the rice was still crispy at the edges, while other were fill with water. The rice was sticky and clumped together, so much that it would be easier to eat with fork instead of a spoon. The long, fine grains of Basmati rice shouldn’t be sticky and clumped together.

The Worcester Academy “basmati” rice barely resembled real basmati rice. Eating basmati rice fills you with warmth, from the inside out. Basmati rice is moist but not watery. It doesn’t look clumpy and pasty, you can see each individual grain of ice. Instead this basmati tasted, and looked, like the typical cafeteria rice. Part of it was undercooked, the other part was overcooked. Some of the rice was still crispy at the edges, while other were fill with water. The rice was sticky and clumped together, so much that it would be easier to eat with fork instead of a spoon. The long, fine grains of Basmati rice shouldn’t be sticky and clumped together.

 

Moving on  to the chicken, it was the most disgusting thing. Ever. As soon as I was about to take the first bite, I noticed the little pools of oil in the chicken, which, honestly speaking, is gross. I think that’s why many of the (middle school) students chose not to take the special and go make something else instead, because of the oil and the color. The vomit-yellow gravy with the orange globs of oil did not give an appealing look. I’ve seen yellow chicken before, but never this  sickly shade. When I took a bite of it, I realized where the color came from. It was missing many of the flavors and spices that should have been in the chicken in order to give its true color and taste.

 

If you would have tried the chicken and rice blindfolded, you would have never known it was Indian food. Even I, an Indian, wouldn’t have known. I eat it every day at home! Indian food is filled with exotic flavors, each bite hinting at the many unusual spices that give it such a wonderful taste. Warmth courses through your body with each spicy spoonful. It doesn’t make you want to spit everything out and then go wash your mouth out with soap. And the idea that the chicken was mixed with  potatoes was weird. Generally chicken isn’t mixed with other things, especially not potatoes. They don’t go well together, and in this chicken-well, let’s just say it didn’t work out.

 

I really appreciated that the school tried to make it. But I said it earlier and I’ll say it again. This was the worst, most disgusting Indian food I had ever tasted. I just don’t want people to get the wrong idea of what Indian food is really like. I want it to be something they enjoy and love.

Leave a Reply

